Oh, For Grace to Trust You More

A sweet friend asked me once how I “talked to God.” My reply on that particular occasion was I just freely let my mind lift praises, thanks, needs, thoughts and worries toward heaven, having faith that God hears the voice of my heart. She asked if God ever responded. I said, yes, but I must stop talking in order to listen. Just as when I have a conversation with you, my friend, I must open my ears and heart to hear what you have to say.

At times of distress or grief or pain, words for prayers do not always come easily. We become bogged down by the cares of this world. Life gets hard. People disappoint us. Troubles come. We become more aware of the fragility of life. A plan we had so carefully mapped out for ourselves suddenly becomes very uncertain. How do you pray during those times?

Do you cry out to God with a raised fist and ask him “Why?”       Yes.

Do you allow the tears to fall freely down your face in silence and allow the Holy Spirit to make intercession for you?             Yes.

Do you beg for God to change your present circumstances?       Yes.

Do you ask others to make intercession for you?    Absolutely.

You do all those things and more……. why, you might ask?  Because God is big enough for our praises, our angry cries, our silent weeping and our pleas for help. He is the great and mighty One who shelters us under His arm. He is the suffering servant who also prayed, “let this cup pass from me.” And He is the great Comforter whose presence is never more than a whisper away.

After you have prayed those prayers of why and cried those silent tears, take great time to just Be Still in His presence. Allow His peace that passes all understanding to envelop your soul. I promise, His voice will pierce through the silence; a light will shine on the path to follow; and you can find perseverance and hope. Remember, though, this God who loves us so deeply, also allows us to make a choice. We can curl up in great grief and shut out the world, or we can follow the path, even when the darkness covers the next step. The answers aren’t always instant. The pain doesn’t immediately disappear. Faith, though, grows like a wildflower in springtime, and we become aware there is something greater than just ourselves at work in our life.

Faith is the evidence of things hoped for…… I believe, and I hope you will join me in believing, one day the pain will ease. The path will have more light and the JOY of salvation will be fully restored.

Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him.  How I’ve proved Him o’re and o’re.

Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus!  Oh, for grace to trust Him more.

About Tina Swaggerty Collins

Tina currently serves on staff at Ball Camp Baptist Church. A music graduate of Carson-Newman College, Tina has been active in church music ministry for over 30 years and is an ordained minister. She is the mother to two amazing grown children, who still allow her to be a nurturing mom from time to time. Her blog is an invitation to step into her life as a mom, a minister and a follower.
This entry was posted in prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

