How He Loves Us

 

image

I pray that you may grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ.        Eph 3:18

Have you spent time thinking about how much God loves you?  Does it amaze you?  It should……… Our minds cannot possibly comprehend the depth and measure of God’s great love for us. It seems to be one of the greatest mysteries of man. Even the Apostle Paul when writing to the church in Ephesus, tried to urge them to grasp the fullness and greatness of God’s love so they could understand how much more He could do in their lives.

The greatest love I have ever experienced in my life is the love I have for my children, Jay and Emily. I have loved them deeply from the moment I knew of their existence inside my body. I never knew such a great love could exist as when I saw their beautiful faces for the first time. I cannot imagine a greater love in this world than a mother for a child, but God’s love is deeper than even my love for my children.

I have never seen a sweeter love than the love between my parents. Even in his last days, when Alzheimer’s had robbed him of so much, I could still see love in my Daddy’s eyes for his sweet wife. And I watched in awe, time and time again, as my Mother, true to the love she committed to so many years before, continued to care and watch over her dear husband.  In a world of throw-away marriages, it was mind boggling to watch such care and devotion.  As wonderful as their love is, God’s love is even sweeter.

As a musician, there is probably no greater expression of love than that found in a beautifully prepared piece of well-written music. The performer has poured heart and soul into the notes and rhythm, bringing them to life with his or her interpretation and expression. Yet, even the most exquisite music is pale in comparison to God’s great love.  And without His love, music is just “tinkling brass” or “clanging cymbals.”

I cannot comprehend this vast, deep love of God.  My finite mind is much too shallow. All I can do is accept what this love brings to me. It affords me the ability to love my children even more.  It offers me the hope that I, too, someday might experience something close to the kind of love my parents had.  God’s love gives me passion to perform my music so others see the path to God; so others see grace, hope, mercy.  Most of all, it gives me the assurance that one day I will stand in the presence of this amazing Love.  When I do, every fear will be gone, every worry erased, every tear wiped away, and I will know Him.  And I will know the width and length and height and depth of His endless, matchless love.

Selah.

About Tina Swaggerty Collins

Tina currently serves on staff at Ball Camp Baptist Church. A music graduate of Carson-Newman College, Tina has been active in church music ministry for over 30 years and is an ordained minister. She is the mother to two amazing grown children, who still allow her to be a nurturing mom from time to time. Her blog is an invitation to step into her life as a mom, a minister and a follower.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

