Singin’ in the Rain

It has rained on and off now for several days. There has been very little sunshine to break through the heavy gray clouds. Several days in a row of this kind of weather can lead to a gloomy outlook or a dark state of mind. We all need sunshine – light – into our lives and souls to drive out the darkness.

A downcast spirit had crept into my heart this morning, and then, very faintly, I heard a sweet sound. In the midst of the hard rain and the rushing wind, I heard a bird singing her morning song.  I have no idea who she was singing to, but I do know WHY she was singing on a rainy, gloomy morning. She was singing because that is what her Creator created her to do. The cold and dampness of the weather could not stop her from singing her morning song.  She knew no other way to begin her day.  She had to sing!

I quickly realized I need to be more like the little bird. The circumstances of my day should not stop me from being who God created me to be. A gloomy day should not equal a gloomy spirit. A trying problem should not mean an anxious heart. A disappointment should not rob me of my joy. A rainy day should not take away my song……

God created me to love Him and to love my neighbor. He created me to worship and bring Him an offering of praise. He created me in His image, as His child. My life needs to be a reflection of His creation and just like the little bird, I need to always be willing to sing my song.

Selah.

About Tina Swaggerty Collins

Tina currently serves on staff at Ball Camp Baptist Church. A music graduate of Carson-Newman College, Tina has been active in church music ministry for over 30 years and is an ordained minister. She is the mother to two amazing grown children, who still allow her to be a nurturing mom from time to time. Her blog is an invitation to step into her life as a mom, a minister and a follower.
This entry was posted in Lent, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

