Don’t Stop Believing

The Bible is full of stories of faithful believers.  Noah built an ark.  Abraham and Sarah prayed for years before Issac was born.  For 7 days, faithful followers marched around the walls of Jericho believing their actions would cause mighty rock walls to come tumbling to the ground.  David, with a boy’s slingshot, brought down a mighty giant.  Daniel had faith that the mouths of lions would remain shut when he was thrown into their den.  Then there are those faithful disciples who left home, family, friends and work to follow an itinerant teacher through the countryside while he spoke of grace, mercy and love.

I grow weary sometimes because I feel as if I am praying the same prayers each day.  There are one or two prayers in particular for which answers just won’t come, or the prevalent answer is “wait”.  This period of waiting has been quite a faith-building exercise.  At times, it has been glowing evidence of just how little faith I actually possess.  There have been numerous occasions where I have simply given up, thinking the doors of heaven must be shut to my request, only to realize later there is still something inside me that has hope, that has strength to pray the prayer again, that somehow believes the answer is coming and that waiting cultivates my heart into who God desires me to be.  There is the still-small voice inside my soul that says keep praying, keep believing, I’m still here, and I’m still listening.

I have always loved the story in the gospel of Mark of the father who approached Jesus with his son who was ill with violent convulsions.  The father asks Jesus to “please have pity on us and help us, if you can.”  Jesus tells him, “All things are possible for the one who believes.”  The father, in his utter exuberance for his son to be healed exclaims, “I do believe!” And then just as quickly he adds, “Help my unbelief.” (Quotes from Mark 9:22-24)  I certainly admire the honesty of this father!  I certainly relate to his honesty! Each day of my faith journey, I am so very anxious to believe, because I know my God can and will do all things, but my heart is pleading with Him to help my unbelief!  Those nagging doubts still exist.  Those moments of wondering if these prayers will EVER be answered are very present.  Oh, I have faith, but oh, how I long to have a deeper faith.

During this second week of Lent, my focus is to “keep believing,” to know answers are coming, to understand my Heavenly Father never grows weary of hearing my prayers, to believe God does as He promises.

Hebrews 10:35-36

Do not lose the courage you had in the past, which has a great reward.  You must hold on so you can do what God wants and receive what He has promised.

Join me – won’t you?  What is the prayer you have long given up praying? Pray it again. Share it with a trusted friend.  Don’t Stop Believing……..

Selah.

 

 

 

About Tina Swaggerty Collins

Tina currently serves on staff at Ball Camp Baptist Church. A music graduate of Carson-Newman College, Tina has been active in church music ministry for over 30 years and is an ordained minister. She is the mother to two amazing grown children, who still allow her to be a nurturing mom from time to time. Her blog is an invitation to step into her life as a mom, a minister and a follower.
This entry was posted in Lent, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

